Quick Introduction to At Large 2000

ICANN-Studienkreis

Zürich
3 February, 2001

Andrew McLaughlin



Green Paper

 Proposed 15-member ICANN Board, with "seven members representing Internet users," via existing Internet membership organizations (e.g., ARIN, APNIC, RIPE, IAB)

30 January, 1998

White Paper

 "Nominations to the Board of Directors should preserve, as much as possible, the tradition of bottom-up governance of the Internet, and Board Members should be elected from membership or other associations open to all or through other mechanisms that ensure broad representation and participation in the election process."

5 June, 1998

Original ICANN Bylaws

- Blank section reserved for membership
- Process for selecting At Large Directors to be determined by the 9 At Large members of the Initial Board
- Called for Membership Advisory
 Committee to make recommendations

Membership Advisory Committee

- Launched: December 1998; Final Report: May 1999
- Recommendations:
- "At Large Membership" with power to elect Directors, open to any Internet user with verifiable identity, without cost, but with no derivative lawsuit rights.
 - To include all participants in the Supporting Organizations
- Online registration, followed by postal letter for verification
- All memberships expire 30 days after vote, and that renewal be required before each annual vote
- "The first at-large Directors seated by the membership should be elected on a staggered basis."
 - (Either 3-at-a-time or 5-then-4).

Board Actions on Membership

- Berlin Resolutions May 1999
- Santiago Resolutions August 1999
 - Direct vote for At Large Council; indirect selection of Directors
- Los Angeles Resolutions November 1999
- Cairo Resolutions March 2000
 - Direct vote for 5 Directors, followed by comprehensive At Large Study
- Yokohama Resolutions July 2000

At Large 2000

- Phases of election process
 - Election Committee
 - Nominating Committee
- Membership Implementation Task
 Force

Directors of ICANN

At Large Directors:

- Karl Auerbach (USA)
- Ivan Moura Campos (Brazil)
- Frank Fitzsimmons (USA)
- Masanobu Katoh (Japan)
- Hans Kraaijenbrink (Netherlands)
- Andy Mueller-Maguhn (Germany)
- Jun Murai (Japan)
- Nii Quaynor (Ghana)
- Linda S. Wilson (USA)

ASO Directors:

- Rob Blokzijl (Netherlands)
- Ken Fockler (Canada)
- Sang-Hyon Kyong (South Korea)

DNSO Directors:

- Amadeu Abril i Abril (Spain)
- Jonathan Cohen (Canada)
- Alejandro Pisanty (Mexico)

PSO Directors:

- Helmut Schink (Germany)
- Vint Cerf (USA) Chairman
- Phil Davidson (U.K.)

At Large Study Committee

- Members
- Charter
- Timetable
- Invitation to open participation

What I Worry About

- Capture
- Verification/Fraud
- Unrepresentativeness
 - Geographic
 - Sectoral
- Active vs. Passive Participation

For Further Information:

Andrew McLaughlin <ajm@icann.org>

http://www.icann.org